ACPA Awards

Each year, ACPA provides recognition to exemplary students, administrators, educators, and programs/initiatives, normally awarded at ceremonies and receptions during the Annual Convention.

Awards are broken up into three types: Association Awards, Overall Entity Awards and Individual Entity Awards. We encourage all ACPA members to nominate mentors, peer, colleagues, students, or supervisees for one or many of the awards ACPA offers each year.

If you have any questions about the awards information or awards program, please contact

Association Awards

The 14 Association Awards below are the highest honors and recognition ACPA provides the profession. These awards accept nominations beginning each summer through November. Click on the Award name to learn more about the requirements, expectations and nomination instructions for each.

Annuit Coeptis Award: Emerging Professionals
Champion of Sustainability Award
Collaborative Excellence Award
Contribution to Higher Education Award
Contribution to Knowledge Award
Emerging Scholar Awards
Esther Lloyd-Jones Professional Service Award 
Innovative Practice Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Marylu McEwen Dissertation of the Year
Presidential Citation Award
Senior Scholars Awards
Voices of Inclusion Award


27 September 27, 2020: 

  • Emerging and Senior Scholars

6 November 2020: 

  • Marylu McEwen Dissertation of the Year Award-Presented by the ACPA Foundation
  • Contribution to Higher Education
  • Contribution to Knowledge
  • Innovative Practice Award
  • Esther-Lloyd Jones Professional Service
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Annuit Coeptis
  • Champion of Sustainability
  • Voices of Inclusion
  • All Overall Chapter, International Division, Coalition and Commission Awards (information below)

overall Entity Awards

Entity Awards highlight accomplishments of individuals, programs, and ACPA Entitites (Commissions, Coalitions, Networks, Chapters, and Communities of Practice). They are an opportunity to highlight best practices and scholarship that benefit students, recognize members and highlight accomplishments.

Overall Entity Awards are given out by Assembly Coordinators for outstanding contributions to a specific entity type. Overall Entity Awards are due in coordination with ACPA Association Awards on 6 November 2020.

individual Entity Awards

Individual Entity awards are given out by the Entity leadership to individuals or programs that best exhibited commitment to the Entity through education or service. Individual Entities determine award deadlines and nomination processes. To learn more, visit the respective Entity website.

Past Recipients

Click the link below to view/download the Awards Ceremony Program Book from past ACPA Annual Conventions!